College, NFL and MLB T-Shirts, College Jerseys

The Georgia Bulldogs football program has long been a dominant force in the SEC and on a national level as well. UGA won the 1942 and 1980 national titles and has been crowned SEC football champions 12 times.

Georgia Bulldogs Championship History

University of Georgia National Championship football seasons

Georgia coaching legends Wally Butts and Vince Dooley have both put their championship mark on the UGA program:

1942:With Heisman Trophy winner Frank Sinkwich leading the way, UGA posted an 11-1 record en route to the 1942 national title. With six polls recognizing Coach Wally Butt's squad as the best in the land, Georgia was recognized as the consensus national champion. Highlights for the seson included a 21-10 win over #3 Alabama and a 34-0 shutout of 2nd ranked Georgia Tech. The win was critical for UGA's championship season since the Bulldogs had fallen to unranked Auburn the week before. Georgia capped the season with a 9-0 win over UCLA in the Rose Bowl.

1980:With Head Coach Vince Dooley leading the charge, Georgia marched through the 1980 season with an undefeated 12-0 record. The Bulldogs featured the amazing rushing talents of freshman RB Herschel Walker who gained 1,616 yards on the ground and 16 total TDs.

Additional highlights that season included a 13-10 win over #14 ranked South Carolina and an improbable win over #20 Florida the next week in Jacksonville. Georgia trailed the Gators late in the contest until Lindsay Scott made an amazing 75-yard run after after catching a Buck Belue pass. The last-minute win positioned Georgia to play Notre Dame in the Sugar Bowl. After defeating the Irish 17-10, Georgia was declared 1980 national champions.

Georgia SEC Football Champion Seasons

1942 - Head Coach Wally Butts

1946 - Head Coach Wally Butts

1948 - Head Coach Wally Butts

1959 - Head Coach Wally Butts

1966 - Head Coach Vince Dooley

1968 - Head Coach Vince Dooley

1976 - Head Coach Vince Dooley

1980 - Head Coach Vince Dooley

1981 - Head Coach Vince Dooley

1982 - Head Coach Vince Dooley

2002 - Head Coach Mark Richt

2005 - Head Coach Mark Richt

Seeking more information: Call us at 601-668-6270 click the "send email" link at the top of the page.