College, NFL and MLB T-Shirts, College Jerseys

Notre Dame is among the college football elite when it comes to producing national championship seasons. The Fighting Irish have 11 national titles that have been won by some of the games greatest coaches and players.

Notre Dame National Championship Seasons

Notre Dame National Championship Seasons

Five head coaches have combined to lead the Irish to a football national title. Frank Leahy leads the pack with four of the championship seasons. Nine of the 11 teams went undefeated while seven of the teams completed their season without the blemish of a loss or tie during the season.

- 1924 10-0 Record - Coach Knute Rockne - The Four Horsemen of Notre Dame helped the Irish gallop to their first national title.

- 1929 9-0 Record - Coach Knute Rockne - The season was highlighted by a 13-12 victory over USC in front of 112,912 fans at Chicago's Soldier Field. The Irish shutout four opponents.

- 1930 10-0 Record - Coach Knute Rockne - With an undefeated 10-win season, the Irish pushed their winning streak to 19 games. The most serious challenge to Rockne's squad was Army who fell to Notre Dame 7-6 in a late season game at Soldier Field. This season also marked Rockne's last season since the famed coach died in a plane crash the following spring.

- 1943 9-1 Record - Coach Frank Leahy - In the midst of World War II, the Irish captured their third national title and their first under Frank Leahy. The team was led by Heisman Trophy winner Angelo Bertelli. Leahy's squad beat seven opponents ranked in the top 13, but did lose to Great Lakes at the end of the season.

- 1946 8-0-1 Record - Coach Frank Leahy -The dynasty era of Fighting Irish football began this season as Leahy captured his second National title wih an undefeated season. Notre Dame shutout five opponents including Army. However the Army game proved to be the one blemish on the season as #1 ranked Army forced a 0-0 tie.

- 1947 10-0 Record - Coach Frank Leahy - The Fighting Irish rolled through the 1947 campaign under the direction of Heisman Trophy winning QB Johnny Lujack. Leahy's squad earned 3 consecutive shutouts against Nebraska, Iowa and Navy before beating #9 Army 27-7 and #3 USC to conclude a tremendous undefeated season.

- 1949 10-0 Record - Coach Frank Leahy - Notre Dame boasted its third national title in four years that witnessed Leahy's Grid iron stars post a 36-0-2 unbeaten record over that time span. The team was led by end Leon Hart who captured Heisman Trophy honors.

- 1966 9-0-1 Record - Coach Ara Parseghian - The Irish struck national championship gold for the first time in nearly two decades as Ara Parseghian's squad dominated opponents. The Golden Domers defeated #8 Purdue 26-14, #10 Oklahoma 38-0 and #10 USC 51-0. In what was regarded as the "Game of the Century," Notre Dame tied #2 Michigan State 10-10.

- 1973 11-0 Record - Coach Ara Parseghian - With a 24-23 Sugar Bowl win over Alabama, the Irish won their second national title under the direction of Parseghian. A 14-10 October struggle against Michigan Stae proved to be the team's toughest match. However Notre Dame easily defeated #6 USC (23-14) and #5 Pitt (31-10).

- 1977 11-1 Record - Coach Dan Devine - Despite a week two loss at Ole Miss, the Golden Domers posted an 11-1 record while adding another championship season to the lore of Notre Dame football. The Irish earned wins over #7 Pitt, #5 USC and #15 Clemson before defeating the top ranked Texas Longhorns 38-10 in the Cotton Bowl. Devine's squad was boosted by the play of QB Joe Montana and Outland Trophy winner Ross Browner.

- 1988 12-0 Record - Coach Lou Holtz - A win over #3 West Virginia in the Sunkist Fiesta Bowl culminated Notre Dame's first championship season in more than a decade. Lou Holtz's squad generated an undefeated 12-win season that also included wins over #9 Michigan, #1 Miami and #2 USC.

Seeking more information: Call us at 601-668-6270 click the "send email" link at the top of the page.