College, NFL and MLB T-Shirts, College Jerseys

After Head Coach Bud Wilkinson's Sooner football team captured the 1950 national championship, OU quickly emerged to an elite status that has stood strong for decades. The Sooners program ranks as one of the top colleges with their championship success.

Oklahoma National Championship Football Seasons

OU National Championship Seasons

1950 - With few returning starters from the year before, few expected Oklahoma to begin its championship quest in 1950. However a week 3 victory over No. 4 ranked Texas by a 14-13 score set the squad on a championship course. Bud Wilkinson's squad posted wins over additional ranked opponents such as No. 19 Kansas and No. 16 Nebraska on their way to a 10-0 undefeated regular season and AP National Championshp. Although it didn't impact their national title, OU fell to Kentucky in the Sugar Bowl.

1955 - The Crimson and Cream were compeletly dominating this season with an 11-0 overall record that saw OU lead the nation in total offense, rushing offense and scoring offense. The defense didn't miss a beat either as Oklahoma shutout five teams including the last four in the regular season. OU easily outdistanced Michigan State and Maryland in the final AP poll. The Sooners defeated Maryland 20-6 in the Orange Bowl.

1956 - In what is regarded as the best Oklahoma football team of all-time, Bud Wilkinson's Sooners roared through an undefeated season. The season was highlighted with dominating wins over Texas (45-0), Notre Dame (40-0), Nebraska (54-6) and Oklahoma State (53-0). Before receiving a dominating AP National Championship vote total over Tennessee and Iowa, OU outscored their opponents by a 466-51 margin.

1974 - After an 18 year absence from a national championship season, the Sooners opened and finshed the season as the nation's top ranked team. Oklahoma blitzed through an undefeated season that included a 16 to 13 win over NO. 17 Texas. With a win over Oklahoma State in the season finale, the Sooners exteded their winning streak to 20 games.

1975 - OU's championship momentum extended into the next season although the sledding was much more difficult. After spanking Oregon (62-7) and Pitt (46-10 )in the season's first two games, the Sooners struggled in wins against Miami, Colorado and Texas. By early November, the unthinkable happened when Kansas upended OU by a 23-3 margin. A 35 to 10 thrashing of No. 2 Nebraska in the regular season finale pushed No. 7 Oklahoma up in the rankings. The Sooners then defeated Michigan in the Orange Bowl and took advantage of Ohio State losing their bowl game to claim the AP National Title.

1985 - After a decade without a national title, Oklahoma returned to national championship form in 1985 as Coach Barry Switzer's squad posted a 10-1 regular season. With freshman QB Jamelly Holloway leading the Sooners option attack, Oklahoma defeated No. 17 ranked Texas (14-7), No. 2 Nebraska (27-7) and No. 17 Oklahoma Stae 13-0. OU's one loss was a week 4 (27-14) drubbing to Miami. The Sooners were ranked No. 3 as they faced top ranked Penn State in the Orange Bowl. A 25-10 victory over the Nittany Lions valuted the Sooners to a near unanimous vote as the 1985 AP national champs.

2000 - The Sooners began the new century in tremendous championship fashion by earning a 13-0 record that included key wins over No. 10 Texas (63-14), No. 2 Kansas State (31-21), and No. 1 Nebraska (31-14) over a three-week stretch in October. A November 11th contest at Texas A&M nearly proved to be disasterous as Head Coach Bob Stoopes team trailed the Aggies 31 to 21 with just eight minutes to play. After edging Texas A&M (35-31), OU entered the Big 12 Championship game undefeated. The Sooners beat No. 8 K-State 27-24 and then upended FSU (13-2) in the BCS Championship Game.

Seeking more information: Call us at 601-668-6270 click the "send email" link at the top of the page.